Whenever a person is convicted of a crime he or she did not actually commit, they are often wrongfully sentenced to immediate incarceration, many years away from family members and loved ones. Also, the revocation of ordinary day to day freedoms and privileges, as well as the heartbreaking truth that life will not be the … Continue reading Were You Wrongfully Convicted Of A Crime?
Have you or a family member been arrested for driving while intoxicated? Do you feel as though there is absolutely no way to beat your charges? Quite often individuals charged with DWI are likely to admit guilt and move on. You should try to not fall into this trap. The truth of the matter is … Continue reading Possible DWI Defenses
Being arrested or accused of a crime can be an extremely frightening and daunting thing. Not just that, but the legal and criminal process that comes after can be very complicated. What should you say to law enforcement officers? Exactly how do you post bail? Are you going to have these charges on your record … Continue reading Why You Should Hire A Criminal Defense Attorney
If you were arrested for drunk driving or driving under the influence of any controlled substance, you might ask yourself if an attorney will be of assistance to get the charges lowered or dismissed completely. Even though hiring an attorney is not an assurance of getting out of a DWI, it does vastly improve your … Continue reading Charged With A DWI? Here’s Why You Should Hire An Attorney
DWI Charge Have you been charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI) in Cherry Hill, NJ? If so, the legal counsel that you choose is very important. In fact, it can be the difference between being convicted or getting your DWI case dismissed. The Law Office of Mark A. Bernstein, located in Cherry Hill, NJ specializes … Continue reading Cherry Hill, NJ DWI Attorney
1st Offense 2nd Offense 3rd Offense Jail Up to 30 days Up to 90 days Up to 180 days Fines and Penalties $250 to $500 $500 to $1,000 $1,000 License Suspension 3 months to 1 year 2 years 10 years IID** Required Possible Possible Possible All drunk driving arrests also carry the following penalties: $100 … Continue reading DUI/DWI Fines & Penalties in NJ
One of our most fundamental rights is the protection against unreasonable search and seizures, as outlined in The Fourth Amendment. Unless the search falls within a specific exception, a police officer must obtain a warrant to conduct a search of person or premise. Some well-established exceptions include you consenting to a search or when illegal … Continue reading The Smell of Marijuana
Under the 1949 Retail Gasoline Dispensing Safety Act, pumping your own gas in New Jersey is unlawful. The statute, N.J.S.A. 34:3A:10, imposes penalties for violating the act and these consequences range from $50 to $250 fine for the first offense, and not to exceed $500 for each subsequent offense thereafter. The New Jersey Department of … Continue reading What Happens if You’re Caught Pumping Your Own Gas?
Unmarked police cars have been used in order to catch unsuspecting drivers committing traffic violations, such as speeding or tailgating. In New Jersey, the State Police have initiated new vehicles, a black Chevy Caprice, with a frosted graphic of the division’s logo that is virtually impossible to see on the road. The logo is visible, … Continue reading Ghost Patrol Cars