What Happens if You’re Caught Pumping Your Own Gas?
Under the 1949 Retail Gasoline Dispensing Safety Act, pumping your own gas in New Jersey is unlawful. The statute, N.J.S.A. 34:3A:10, imposes penalties for violating the act and these consequences range from $50 to $250 fine for the first offense, and not to exceed $500 for each subsequent offense thereafter.
The New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development is in charge of enforcing the act and imposing penalties on violators. In order for a person to be ticketed for a violation for pumping their own gas, he or she would have to do so virtually in the presence of an inspector from the department.
Coincidentally, the department of labor has not issued a violation to anyone for pumping their own gas in over two-years. While it might not seem like such a big deal, the offending customer could potentially give the gas station owner a violation as well as a result of their actions. Though this does not happen often, it is still a possibility. Many times, if an inspector does witness a customer pumping gas, they will give the violation to the gas station owner instead of issuing a ticket to the responsible party.
Though this might not be an issue for very much longer; some New Jersey lawmakers are seeking to overturn the 1949 act to allow consumers to pump their own gas. The debate has advocates lobbying for each side of the argument, so only time will tell.
In the event you are issued a violation for pumping your own gas, contact an attorney today to help you determine the best course of action. An experienced defense attorney will be able to help fight the penalties if the violation is unjustified. They will also be able to assess your personal experience and help choose the best next step to take in regards to the violation. Do not wait; call defense attorney Mark A. Bernstein today at (609) 665-3338.