DUI/DWI Fines & Penalties in NJ
|1st Offense||2nd Offense||3rd Offense|
|Jail||Up to 30 days||Up to 90 days||Up to 180 days|
|Fines and Penalties||$250 to $500||$500 to $1,000||$1,000|
|License Suspension||3 months to 1 year||2 years||10 years|
All drunk driving arrests also carry the following penalties:
- $100 Surcharge for the drunk driving enforcement fund.
- $100 Motor Vehicle Restoration Fee.
- $100 Violent Crimes Compensation fee.
- $100 Intoxicated Driver Program Fee.
- $100 State and Municipality Fee.
Lookback Period: 10 years (Period of time that prior DUI/DWIs are relevant for sentencing. Also known as a “washout” period.)
**Ignition Interlock Device
How much do you have to drink (BAC*) for a DUI/DWI in New Jersey?
|21 or older||.08%|
An individual is considered to be guilty of Driving While Intoxicated ( DWI ) if they are intoxicated while operating a motor vehicle. There are numerous potential fees and penalties of a DWI conviction, including driver’s license suspension, fines, as well as jail time. Should you be convicted, you would also face a mandatory DMV insurance surcharge of $3,000 or more. The rigorousness of the penalty is dependent on upon whether it is your first DWI offense. If your driver’s license is suspended, you cannot obtain a hardship or work license.
In case you are stopped while driving for suspicion of drunk driving, the law enforcement officer may require you to take a breathalyzer test or a field sobriety test. In New Jersey, it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle when your blood alcohol concentration level is .08 or higher.
If you are facing a DWI charge, the Law Office of Mark A. Bernstein will work to preserve your rights and improve your chances of winning your case. DWI attorney Mark Bernstein has more than 17 years of experience handling DWI cases, many of which have been dismissed or reduced. Contact our law office today at (609) 665-3338 for a free consultation.